Maidstone Bonsai Society

Japanese Trees in the Garden of England

Only now I understand nothing

Leave a comment

Interesting article by Danish bonsai artist Morten Albek, definitely worth a read

Shohin Bonsai Europe - Morten Albek

How much do you live bonsai? Or how do you appreciate your bonsai in daily life?

I have been doing bonsai for app. 20 years now, if I count in the very first lessons learned, killing innocent small trees collected in local forests, working on them way too early and way too hard. Before that I bought a book, maybe 30 years ago, first time bonsai caught my attention. It took a while before I then tried and failed and had few successes. Today I know more, but still now nothing. As a Danish artist expressed it: “Only now I understand nothing” after many years of work with his art. In other words, the more I know the bigger the world of untrodden land seems to be.

3-L1007742

Today I know plenty of techniques, how to prune, how to fertilize, how to develop a tree from raw form, how to keep…

View original post 552 more words

Leave a Reply

