Maidstone Bonsai Society

Japanese Trees in the Garden of England

Shohin UK Exhibition Failand, Bristol 2013

Leave a comment

Shohin UK was a great weekend with a fabulous display of trees on display. Thank you Mark, Ritta, Bob and Sandra for organising and to all those who made the event possible.

I arrived Saturday around 4:30 with Les Storey and we were both blessed with a hassle free journey despite all the bad weather and threat of impending “Devils Dandruff” snow, threatening the trip. After a cuppa with Ian Warhurst and some of the Wirral crew, well Les does get home sick, we set off to give the organisers a hand at the venue and set up a few tables. I managed to get my stand erected sans pots and then we headed off to the Failand Inn with Peter Warren and John Armitage for a pie and a pint to fill the gap until the morning.

Sunday morning Les and I got to the venue at 7:30 so I could get my pots set up and for me to get ready for a great day. The numbers were really good with some 70+ coming though the door in the first 30 mins, as Ritta told me. I was proud to be asked to sponsor the Best Tree and Pot combination award which was well deserved and won by the very humble Duncan Heild for his Bonston Ivy. Thanks to many others, Paul B etc, for taking pictures of the event. I, on the other hand was so busy and overwhelmed by customers I had no time to take any photographs as the venue to filled to the rafters and close to bursting point.

Adrian selling his wares

20130325-082020.jpg

The rest of the MBS posse arrived about 11 Mr H, Jose and Andy Plod came along and I am sure they enjoyed themselves. Note to self, don’t buy a Spanish Sat Nav as they send you the long way round đŸ™‚

Safe to say I sold a few of my wares and it was a fab day. Again thanks to all for making this a great day. I will post a link to photos when they get uploaded on the web

For me it’s wind down time now and pot production will cease for a few months whilst I move house and workshop 10 miles up the road to a bigger place. I will stay in touch here and on the forums so you have not got rid of me that easily

All the best

Andy

Leave a Reply

