Maidstone Bonsai Society

Japanese Trees in the Garden of England

What 50 Euro’s or £35 will get you

Leave a comment

At the Noelanders trophy this year our very own Les picked up a Chanomeles Chojubai, or more commonly known Japanese Quince, for the princely sum of 50 Euros.

20130312-182129.jpg

In the inimitable words of sensei Peter Warren

” I was very pleased with Les (and angry at myself for not spotting it sooner) when he purchased a small chojubai at the Noelanders Trophy earlier this year. It was a rough piece of material, but had great potential and Les had spotted it. A great purchase for only €50 from Ken Leaver, who you can always rely on for good stock at ridiculously low prices. Personally, I would have snapped this up for more than 50, as within a few years of not too difficult work, this will become an exhibition quality tree.”

After Les spent sometime with Peter here was the result, albeit in a pretty shabby pot. I thought I would say it before Les usually does about my pots. The pot colour is good but the feet on the pot need to be a lot lighter and more delicate to lift the tree more, see me being critical of my pots (and I am my biggest critic, believe me) perhaps a porcelain with cloud feet would be the better option?

20130312-191749.jpg

Leave a Reply

